The Folklore Museum in Ano Assites
|Distance||22 km from Heraklion|
|Open to the public:||There is not any. Ask the key from Mrs Maria, who runs the small cigarette shop next to the Museum. She will be happy to open it and she is always there.|
|Entrance fee:||1 €|
|Parking space:||Available, but outside of the village|
|Facilities for people with disabilities:||Not Available|
|Supervised by:||The Cultural club of Asites|
|Access & walking difficulty:||Difficulty rating, 1|
The folklore Museum of the village was established in 1995. It is dedicated to the three last stone builders of the village, Charalambo Anoyianaki, Ioani Charalambaki and Vangeli Chronaki. The exhibits were all donated by different people of Assites.
One of its rooms recreates the interior of a traditional Cretan Home, with its storage rooms, its cellar and the kitchen in the ground floor, and the living room and bedroom on the first floor. Older tools are in the storage room, such as the wooden plough, the old scales, several old farm tools, while in the kitchen one can see goat’s bells, the old olive oil stand, and a roof hanged peculiar cupboard where the cheeses were stored in safety. On the first floor, there is a number of wooden carved chests, the loom and the bedroom The building was built in 1880, while before its change to a Museum, was the residence of Michalis Ayiomirgianakis family.