Agios Minas, Heraklion
|Open to the public:||08.00 until sunset|
|Entrance fee:||Free admission|
|Supervised by:||Holy Archdiocese of Crete|
|Access and walking difficulty:||Difficulty rating, 1|
The first chapel of Agios Minas, the small Agios Minas as the locals call it, was built in 1735 and hosted -for the first time after the Turkish occupation- the Cretan cathedral. Agios Minas was rendered as the saint to protect the town of Heraklion during the Turkish occupation. The different religious beliefs was the main reason for aggression against the Christians. According to a legend, Agios Minas himself miraculously converted the Turkish troop commander from a sworn enemy to a protector of the Christians. The contemporary imposing church of Agios Minas, one of the largest churches in Greece, was founded on the 25 March 1862. Agios Minas is still the guardian of Heraklion, celebrated on the 11 November, bank holiday in town.