Agia Triada

Distance 66 km from Heraklion
Open to the public: Daily 10.00 – 16.00 (winter timetable)
Entrance fee: dults 4 €, Senior citizens 2 €, Students and young people up to 18 years, free admission.
Toilet Facilities: Not Available
Café: Not Available
Wi-Fi: Available
Parking space: Available for all types of vehicles
Facilities for people with disabilities: Not Available
Supervised by: Hellenic Ministry of Culture and Sports
Supervised by: Difficulty rating 3, uneven terraces and 65 steps.

It is one of the most important archaeological sites of Crete, located 3 km. west of Phaestos palace, central Crete. The distance from Heraklion is 66 km. The excavations are conducted by the Italian School of Archaeology, from the early 20th c. till nowadays.

The name Agia Triada, was given by the Medieval abandoned and in ruins now village, which existed on the left bank of Geropotamos river. According to Venetian documentation of 1583, there were 150 inhabitants in the village. Today there is not much left to see, except from the village ruins and the churches of Agia Triada and Agios Georgios.

The ancient site is located between Phaestos palace and the Libyan sea, was discovered in the early 20th c. by the Italian archeologist Luigi Pernier. The Minoan mansion was built around 1550 BC and destroyed possibly by fire around 1450 BC. Apparently it was used as a summer residence of Phaestos royalty, although it could very well be their permanent residence after the destruction of Phaestos palace.

Into the next period, Mycenaean, there was a large ‘Megaron’ type building that was built on top, while later on in the 5th c. B.C the site is out of use with the exception of a temple to Zeus Velchanos. Some of the top quality artifacts were found there such as: The famous sarcophagus of Ayia Triada, fully decorated with frescoes depicting rituals, sacrifices of animals, cults and practices for the dead and offerings. The clay figurine of a sacred ecstatic swinging woman, stone ritual vases cut with scenes in relief, known as the ‘sports Rhyton’, the magnificent ‘Harvesters vase’ and ‘the chieftain’s cup’. They are all displayed in the Heraklion Museum.

Visit Agia Triada

Map

Other Travel Guides

{tguide_phototitle_en}

St. Catherine of Sinai, Herakion

North East of the Cathedral of St. Minas is the Nave of the monastery of St. Catherine of Sinai, succursal of the homonymous monastery.

More
{tguide_phototitle_en}

Gazi Archaeological Museum

The archaeological Museum of Gazi displays approx. 500 ancient objects from a private collection and from various excavations around.

More
{tguide_phototitle_en}

Saints Peter and Paul, Heraklion

Built during the first period of Venetian rule by the Cistercian monks of the 12th century, and later occupied by the Dominican Order, the Catholic church of Peter and Paul, located just next to the sea-wall

More
{tguide_phototitle_en}

Arolithos

Arolithos the traditional Cretan village is a thematic and multiuse park. Its philosophy is based on the Cretan culture & traditions.

More
{tguide_phototitle_en}

St. Matthew, Heraklion

Approximately 500m south of the Cathedral of St. Minas, within the historical district of Heraklion we have the church of St. Matthew.

More
Experiences
We know best
Follow us
Follow us on social networking pages and learn our news first
Contact us

Andreadaki 13-15 Heraklion, Crete
712 01, Greece
Tel.: +30 2810-342222
Fax: +30 2810-342212
e-mail: info@travelcrete.gr
ΜΗ.Τ.Ε. 1039 Ε 6061 01849 01
Office hours: Mon - Fri: 8.30 - 16.30

Newsletter
Sign up to receive great deals first and our company news

CreditCards